Southwest Minnesota Arts Council 2018 Annual Celebration


You are invited to join Southwest Minnesota Arts Council in celebrating the Arts and Artists of our 18 county region at our annual celebration!



Join us for an “ARTS DAY IN ORTONVILLE”. From 1:00 until 4:00 pm experience art and visit artists at:


Social Hour begins at 4:00 pm at OFF THE GREEN, the clubhouse at the picturesque Ortonville Golf Club. At 5 pm SMAC will host a brief annual meeting, an award ceremony for 2018 SMAC Prairie Star Travis Erickson and Prairie Disciple Leann Atchison, and you will have the opportunity to purchase raffle tickets for our annual “Spirit of the Region” raffle.

Stick around to enjoy a delicious meal served by OFF THE GREEN catering.

During dinner enjoy the musical talents of “Brothers 2,” Lee & Don Kanten, who have been inducted into the MidAmerica Music Hall of Fame.

Socialize and celebrate with artists and arts supporters across the Southwest Minnesota region and learn about the
grants and activities SMAC has funded in the past year!

TICKETS: Just $25/person. Advance ticket purchase required by SEPT 21. Payment options:

1) CHECK: Complete the online registration form by clicking the link above and send a check for tickets to the SMAC office: PO Box 55, Marshall, MN 56258

2) CREDIT CARD: Complete the online registration form by clicking the above link and then click the credit card button to pay online.

 ~ No physical ticket will be sent or given, instead your name and information will be kept on our reservation list – ready to welcome you at the event. ~


Click on the link above to register.  

We look forward to seeing you in Ortonville!



*”Spirit of the Region” Raffle A $10 raffle ticket will get you the chance to win a basket of specialty goods made in the SMAC Region (from wine to honey, beer to fudge).  Raffle tickets available in advance at the SMAC office or through a SMAC Board Member. Raffle tickets also available onsite at the dinner.


2018 Prairie Star Award:  Travis Erickson, Pipestone

Travis is a fourth generation Dakota pipestone carver and quarrier who has been honing his artistic skills in this medium for nearly 40 years. He currently works at the Pipestone National Monument as a demonstrator for the Pipestone Indian Shrine Association. Born and raised in Pipestone, his nominator says, “this is his home and his art reflects that as seen in his choice of animals, plants, and Native American symbols associated with the region.” 

Nominated by Erica Volkir, Pipestone

2018 Prairie Disciple Award – Educator:  Leann Atchison, Clara City

LeAnn has been teaching at MACCRAY for 35 years and counting. Her nominator said, “LeAnn has reached out and touched the lives of all who entered her classroom, regardless of their level of artistic ability.”  She has fostered the development of many successful artists and arts educators, often serving as the catalyst for significant professional and personal contributions to the field.

Nominated by Melissa Sparks, MACCRAY HS

Leave a Comment


Join our email list

© 2024 Southwest Minnesota Arts Council. All Rights Reserved.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. ACCEPT READ MORE

Privacy & Cookies Policy
Skip to content