SMAC Seeks next Prairie Disciple for 2019 Award


Do you know someone who deserves to be nominated?
Applications are now OPEN!
Read below for details.

Prairie Disciple Award

The Prairie Disciple Award ($1,000) provides awareness and recognition of one individual per year from southwest Minnesota, whose activities and involvement have substantially contributed to the arts over an extended period of time. The accomplishments of arts advocates working in the region are often not widely known or appreciated. In recognizing these individuals publicly, the awards will raise the profile of the arts in their community and throughout the SMAC region.


(July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2019)


Nomination Guidelines & Questions


Nominations must be submitted through our online grant system.  LOG IN to begin your nomination.

Nomination Deadline: April 15, 2019
SMAC Board action regarding the nominations will take place April 23, 2019.


Past recipients include:

2018 – LeAnn Atchison, Clara City
2017 – Andy Kahmann, Montevideo
2016 – Brian Pearson, New London
2015 –  Raeanna Gislason, formerly of Willmar
2014 – John Voit, Ghent
2013 – Jerry Deuschle, Luverne
2012 – Tricia Mikle, Worthington
2011 – Nancy Geiger, Willmar
2010 – Ruth McKinney, Walnut Grove*
2009 – Joe Paddock, Litchfield
2008 – Violet Risch, Appleton
2007 – Bob Whitney, New London
2006 – Carol Westberg, Montevideo
2005 – Louise Mack, New London*
2004 – Patrick Moore, Montevideo
2003 – (no award)
2002 – Karen Reede, Marshall
2001 – Rallah Madison, Lismore
2000 – Mercein Holzemer, Madison*
1999  – (no award)
1998 – Ben Vander Kooi, Luverne
1997 – Tina Anderson Richards, Walnut Grove
1996 – Patricia Enger, Marshall
1995 – Vernon Stevens, Dawson*



Questions? Comments? Contact us!

Leave a Comment


Join our email list

© 2024 Southwest Minnesota Arts Council. All Rights Reserved.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. ACCEPT READ MORE

Privacy & Cookies Policy
Skip to content