Prairie Star Award

Every other year, the Prairie Star Award ($5,000) recognizes an individual artist whose body of work has made a significant contribution to the arts over an extended period of time, who has been recognized by his or her artistic peers, and who has best exemplified the highest quality of work in the SMAC region.  In recognizing these individuals publicly, the awards will raise the profile of the arts in their communities and throughout the SMAC region.

A man sits outdoors among tall grasses and trees, painting on a small canvas on an easel.

2022 Prairie Star John Sterner of Marshall, MN.

Fiscal Year 2025

(July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2025)

Prairie Star Award nominations are open every other year. 
SMAC is not accepting nominations in FY 2025.

Fiscal Year 2024

(July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024)

Nomination Guidelines & Questions    (editable document for draft writing)

Nominations must be submitted through our online grant system.  LOG IN to begin your nomination.

Video Tutorial for Online Grant System

Nomination Deadline: April 15, 2024
SMAC Board action regarding the nominations will take place April 26, 2024.

Past recipients include:

2022 – John Sterner, Marshall, visual artist
2020 – Tom Wirt, Hutchinson, potter
2018 – Travis Erickson, Pipestone, Dakota pipestone carver
2016 – Craig Edwards, New London, potter
2014 – Emily Lodine, Magnolia, mezzo-soprano*
2012 – Malena Handeen, Milan, singer/songwriter
2010 – Bill Gossman, New London, potter*
2009 – Bob Mattson, Willmar, visual artist
2008 – Robert Whitcomb, Marshall, composer
2007 – Dan Rieppel, Cottonwood, pianist/conductor
2006 – Karen Jensen, Milan, rosemaler
2005 – Patricia Kadlecek, Olivia, musician/conductor*
2004 – Franz Albert Richter, Clarkfield, visual artist
2003 – Joseph Amato, Marshall, writer
2002 – Gene & Lucy Tokheim, Dawson, potters
2001 – Fred Cogelow, Willmar, wood sculptor
2000 – Bill Holm, Minneota , writer*
1999 – Bernie Aaker, Litchfield, theatrical director*
1998 – Agnes (Bobbie) Alsgaard-Lien, Rushmore , visual artist
1997 – Henry Kyllingstad, New London, photographer*
and Leo Dangel, Marshall, poet*
1996 – Ed Evans, Marshall, painter
1995 – (no award)
1994 – Robert Remick, Windom, visual artist*
1993 – Frederick Manfred, Luverne, novelist*


© 2024 Southwest Minnesota Arts Council. All Rights Reserved.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. ACCEPT READ MORE

Privacy & Cookies Policy
Skip to content