Prairie Star Award

Every other year, the Prairie Star Award ($5,000) recognizes an individual artist whose body of work has made a significant contribution to the arts over an extended period of time, who has been recognized by his or her artistic peers, and who has best exemplified the highest quality of work in the SMAC region.  In recognizing these individuals publicly, the awards will raise the profile of the arts in their communities and throughout the SMAC region.

Photo of Erica Volkir presenting Travis Erickson's Prairie Star award, which is a black square plaque. She speaks at a podium with a mic while he stands off to the side. This was taken at SMAC's annual celebration in Ortonville.


(July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020)

Nomination Guidelines & Questions    (editable document for draft writing)

Nominations must be submitted through our online grant system.  LOG IN to begin your nomination.

Video Tutorial for Online Grant System
Grant System Guide for Applicants (PDF)

Nomination Deadline: April 15, 2020
SMAC Board action regarding the nominations will take place April 28, 2020.


Past recipients include:

2020 – Tom Wirt, Hutchinson, potter
2018 – Travis Erickson, Pipestone, Dakota pipestone carver
2016 – Craig Edwards, New London, potter
2014 – Emily Lodine, Magnolia, mezzo-soprano*
2012 – Malena Handeen, Milan, singer/songwriter
2010 – Bill Gossman, New London, potter*
2009 – Bob Mattson, Willmar, visual artist
2008 – Robert Whitcomb, Marshall, composer
2007 – Dan Rieppel, Cottonwood, pianist/conductor
2006 – Karen Jensen, Milan, rosemaler
2005 – Patricia Kadlecek, Olivia, musician/conductor*
2004 – Franz Albert Richter, Clarkfield, visual artist
2003 – Joseph Amato, Marshall, writer
2002 – Gene & Lucy Tokheim, Dawson, potters
2001 – Fred Cogelow, Willmar, wood sculptor
2000 – Bill Holm, Minneota , writer*
1999 – Bernie Aaker, Litchfield, theatrical director*
1998 – Agnes (Bobbie) Alsgaard-Lien, Rushmore , visual artist
1997 – Henry Kyllingstad, New London, photographer*
and Leo Dangel, Marshall, poet*
1996 – Ed Evans, Marshall, painter
1995 – (no award)
1994 – Robert Remick, Windom, visual artist*
1993 – Frederick Manfred, Luverne, novelist*



Questions? Comments? Contact us!

Grants Awarded


Grants At A Glance

Skip to content